Westlake Academy recognizes the value and importance of school attendance in educating your students. With the passing of House Bill 2398, truancy proceedings are handled in civil court. Schools are required to provide a written warning to parents at the beginning of the school year informing them that if the student is absent from school on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period or 3 days within a four week period in the same school year, that the parent/guardian may be subject to criminal prosecution and, as mentioned, the student is subject to referral to a truancy court for truant conduct.
Parents are required to provide accurate and updated contact information to the school through their settings in Power School. Log in to Power School here: Power School Log In.
Westlake Academy will follow the Texas Education Agency compulsory attendance laws as follows:
- Automated alerts are available to parents and guardians through the Power School parent portal, sending notification when a student has been marked absent. Please note that teachers will post attendance daily (and in grades 6-10, period by period) which will trigger the automated alerts. Any medical notes or other excusable notifications will be updated within 3 school days in Power School.
The Power School system is Westlake Academy’s method of communicating attendance notifications. If you need assistance with your Power School Parent Portal, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org .
- In order to improve the student's overall attendance, a student will be issued a warning notice when attendance records reflect that the student has absences without an excuse (as outlined in the Parent Student Handbook) on 3 days or parts of days in a 4-week period. Further, the parent/guardian will receive a request to attend a conference with the student for the purpose of addressing truancy prevention measures for students who exhibit attendance issues. (Texas Education Code 25.087 & 25.0915)
- As stated in Texas attendance laws, if a student is absent from school without an excuse on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period or 3 days within a 4 week period in the same school year and those absences have been verified by the campus as unexcused, students 12 and older may be referred to the prosecutor of the truancy court. At this point, the court could also file a criminal complaint against parents who contribute to the nonattendance of their child, regardless of their child's age. (Texas Education Code 25.093)
Unless otherwise exempted by the Principal(s), students must be in attendance at least 90% of the school days according to the Texas Education Agency. Both excused and unexcused absences affect the 90% attendance requirement. Parent cooperation is vital in the matter of school attendance and punctuality. Parents should:
- Ensure your child arrives and is picked up on time each day.
- Schedule routine medical and dental appointments after school hours when possible. If an appointment is necessary during school hours, medical/ dental excuses can be delivered to the PYP or Secondary offices.
- Schedule family vacations during the school’s vacation days and notify the school prior to any planned absence (please refer to your Parent Student Handbook for additional details on travel and attendance policy.)
- Inform the attendance office via email at email@example.com or by phone at 817.490.5757, select (2) for attendance line on the day the absence occurs, before 3:00pm.
Should you or your student need special assistance or are experience extenuating circumstances, you may contact your student's Principal. Your child's presence in school is a strong indicator of his/her future success.