About Us, Services, Portals, Athletics (Active Pages) » Admissions » Admission Requirements

Admission Requirements

Westlake Academy is an open enrollment college preparatory charter school, which is owned and operated by the Town of Westlake.  This means that we are a public school, funded primarily through contributions from the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Charter schools are granted freedom from many of the State regulations, but still must maintain accountability through State assessments. 

As an open enrollment charter school, the only requirement for admittance into the Academy is based upon student residency. Westlake Academy admits students from two distinct geographic areas called "primary" and "secondary" boundaries:

  • PRIMARY boundary: concurrent with geographic boundary of the Town of Westlake
  • SECONDARY boundary: adopted by the Board of Trustees and approved by the Texas Education Agency in June 2008 currently includes these specific Independent School Districts: 
    • Argyle ISD
    • Arlington ISD
    • Azle ISD
    • Birdville ISD
    • Boyd ISD
    • Carroll ISD
    • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
    • Coppell ISD
    • Decatur ISD
    • Denton ISD
    • Duncanville ISD
    • Eagle Mt-Saginaw ISD
    • Fort Worth ISD
    • Frisco ISD
    • Garland ISD
    • Grand Prairie ISD
    • Highland Park ISD
    • Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
    • Irving ISD
    • Grapevine-Colleyville ISD
    • Keller ISD
    • Krum ISD
    • Lake Dallas ISD
    • Lewisville ISD
    • Little Elm ISD
    • McKinney ISD
    • Northwest ISD
    • Paradise ISD
    • Ponder ISD
    • Springtown ISD
    • Weatherford ISD
Westlake Academy will not discriminate in admissions based on gender, national origin, ethnicity, religion, disability, academic, artistic, athletic ability, or the district the child would otherwise attend.