Westlake Academy

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Town of Westlake, Westlake Academy IB World School
Clubs & Programme Support: PYP, MYP, DP » Admissions » Admissions



What are the admission requirements for Westlake Academy?

Westlake Academy is an open enrollment college preparatory charter school, which is owned and operated by the Town of Westlake.  This means that we are a public school, funded primarily through contributions from the State of Texas.  Charter schools are granted freedom from many of the State regulations, but still must maintain accountability through State assessments.  As an open enrollment charter school, the only requirement for admittance into the Academy is based upon student residency. 

Westlake Academy admits students from two distinct geographic areas; the primary and secondary areas are defined as:

  • The primary boundary, which runs concurrently with the Town of Westlake boundary.
  • The secondary boundary, which was adopted by the Board of Trustees and approved by the Texas Education Agency in June 2008.  It currently consists of the following Independent School Districts (ISD):  Birdville ISD, Carroll ISD, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, Keller ISD, Lewisville ISD, Northwest ISD, HEB ISD, Decatur ISD, Paradise ISD, Boyd ISD, Weatherford ISD, Krum ISD, Ponder ISD, Denton ISD, Little Elm ISD, Argyle ISD, Frisco ISD, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD, Grand Prairie ISD, Duncanville ISD, Lake Dallas ISD, Springtown ISD, Azle ISD, Coppell ISD, Irving ISD, Arlington ISD, Fort Worth ISD, Eagle Mt-Saginaw ISD, Highland Park ISD, Garland ISD and McKinney ISD.


What is the admission process for Westlake Academy? 

Westlake Academy’s admission process is driven by the legal requirements set by state and federal agencies for operating open enrollment charter schools.  We have a Board adopted admission policy which can be seen by clicking here.  These policies must align with state and federal requirements, and approved by the Texas Education Agency. 

As an open enrollment charter school, we accept applications from all students within the geographic areas defined above.  The students residing in the primary boundary are admitted upon the completion of the enrollment packet and establishing proof of residency.  Applications from students residing in the secondary boundary are accepted in December and January each year.  If more students apply for admission than can be admitted, the Academy is required to conduct a lottery.  This random selection process is used to determine the order students will be admitted from the waiting list.

Students are exempted from the lottery if they meet one of the following criteria and in the following order:

1.      Residency in the primary boundary (the Town of Westlake) or children of the employees of the Town of Westlake, or children of Westlake Academy’s founders, teachers, and staff (so long as the total number of students allowed under this exemption constitutes only a small percentage of the school’s total enrollment).

2.      Siblings of students already admitted to or attending the same charter school.

Once a student is admitted through the lottery process, their siblings are removed from the lottery waiting list and are added to the sibling waiting list.  The list is ordered based upon the date of entry of the first sibling admitted to the Academy.  Students on the sibling waiting list are granted admittance to the Academy before students on the regular waiting list, based upon available openings.  Available openings are any openings that are not filled by students residing in the primary boundary, and the children of the faculty and staff of the Town of Westlake and Westlake Academy.

Westlake Academy will not discriminate in admissions based on gender, national origin, ethnicity, religion, disability, academic, artistic, athletic ability, or the district the child would otherwise attend.