Skip To Main Content

Primary Years Programme (PYP)

G2 Students Celebrate Lunar New Year

About the Primary Years Programme

The Primary Years Programme (PYP), a curriculum framework for children in kindergarten through grade 5 at Westlake Academy, focuses on inquiry-based learning. By emphasizing knowledge, skills, critical thinking, and the fostering and development of universal human values, the PYP is a powerful means of going beyond subject domains, asking students to use their knowledge and skills to solve real life problems. In doing so, students become responsible for their own learning and must work collaboratively with peers and build on each member's strength.

All of the IB programs are flexible enough to enable teachers to respond to local requirements; thus the implementation of the PYP at Westlake Academy addresses the state standards, the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).

The PYP curriculum model is comprised of six academic areas surrounded by the learner profile, key concepts, transdisciplinary themes, approaches to learning and teaching, exhibition and action.  Together, these elements build an internationally-minded curriculum. Emphasis is intentionally placed on constructivism, concept-based and inquiry learning that are integrated throughout the teaching model.

The six subjects are:

  1. Language: English and Spanish
    • Kindergarten students attend one 45-minute Spanish class each week.
    • Students in Grades 1-5 attend three 45-minutes Spanish classes each week.
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social Studies
  4. Science
  5. Personal, Social, Physical Education
  6. Visual Arts and Music

To learn more about the Primary Years Program, visit the International Baccalaureate Organization's website.