Skip to Content

Westlake Academy [logo]

Areas of Interaction

What are the five areas of interaction?

Students study subjects from each of the eight subject groups through the five areas of interaction: approaches to learning, community and service, human ingenuity, environments, and health and social education.

The five areas of interaction are:
  • approaches to learning

  • community and service

  • human ingenuity
  • environments
  • health and social education

Approaches to learning (ATL)

Through ATL teachers provide students with the tools to enable them to take responsibility for their own learning, thereby developing an awareness of how they learn best, of thought processes and of learning strategies.

Community and service

This component requires students to take an active part in the communities in which they live, thereby encouraging responsible citizenship.

Human ingenuity

Students explore in multiple ways the processes and products of human creativity, thus learning to appreciate and develop in themselves the human capacity to influence, transform, enjoy and improve the quality of life.


This area aims to develop students’ awareness of their interdependence with the environment so that they understand and accept their responsibilities.

Health and social education

This area deals with physical, social and emotional health and intelligence-key aspects of development leading to complete and healthy lives.